Salt Lake City Branch

| Branch History | OfficersMeetings | Membership |
| Interest Groups | Newsletters |Scholarship|Scholarship Fund Raiser


The Salt Lake Branch was founded in 1917 to serve college graduates in the Salt Lake area.

Branch History

Salt Lake City Branch Elected Officers

President Laurie Hofmann
President Elect Claire Turner
Past President Nancy Mitchell
Program VP Theresa Otteson
Membership VP Kathy Boyer
Finance Ann House
Recording Secretary Rachel Ridge
Corresponding Secretary Jane Collison

Appointed Officers and Committee Chairs

AAUW Fund Chair Amanda Barusch
Public Policy/Legis Chr Claire Turner
Comm./Newsletter Kathi Sjoberg
Distinguished Woman Georgete Kapos
Bylaws Committee
Kathy Boyer
Jeanette Misaka
Parliamentarian Kathy Boyer
Social Media Theresa Otteson

Branch Interest Groups

Monthly Evening Book Group 

Meets 1st Wednesday at 6:30 pm. Email for book, date and location:
                                                Yvonne Merrill

Local Lunch Bunch        Claire Turner
Meets after monthly branch meeting (except when a branch luncheon is held).


We would love for you to join us at our meetings, meet our branch members, and enjoy our interesting programs. No commitment to join.   If you would like to become a member download this Application Form.  If you are already a member of AAUW (annual dues $59) or a Student Affiliate (FREE)  you can add the Utah State Membership ($13) and Salt Lake City Branch membership ($13.00).  See the Meeting Schedule below:

Salt Lake City Branch Meetings 2018-2019

Saturday, August 18, 2018, 10:00 – noon. Annual Summer Social.  Place:  Home of Amanda Barusch.

Saturday, September 8, 2018, 10:00 – noon.  Suicide Prevention: Know QPR, Utah Suicide Prevention Coalition.  Place: The Den—Union Building, U of U, 200 South Central Campus Drive.

Saturday, October 13, 2018, 10:00 – noon. Micah Christensen, Topic, TBA.   Place: Anthony’s Fine Art, 401 E. 200 S. SLC.

Saturday, November 10, 2018, 10:00 – noon. Program TBA.  Place:  The Den—Union Building, U of U, 200 South Central Campus Drive.

Saturday, December 8, 2018, 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.  Red Candle Tea, Contribute to AAUW Fund.
Place: Adamson Alumni House, Westminster College, 1840 South 1200 East, SLC.

Saturday, January 12, 2019.  9:00 a.m.  Legislative Forum.  Girl Scout Offices,  445 East 4500 South, Murray, Utah.  Refreshments 9:30, Forum 10:00.  Co-sponsored: AAUW and League of Women Voters.

Saturday, February 9, 2019.  10:00 – noon.  Program TBA.   Place:  Janes Home, 1229 E. South Temple, SLC.

Saturday, March 9, 2019.  11:30 a.m.–2:00 p.m.  Fund Luncheon.   Place: Town Club, 1081 E. South Temple, SLC.

Monday, April 8, 2019,  Equal Pay Day.  Time and Location TBA.

Saturday, April 13, 2019, Time TBA.  Distinguished Woman Luncheon.   Place: Café Molise, 404 S. W. Temple, SLC

Saturday, May 11, 2019, 10:00 – noon.  Annual Meeting and Officer Installation.
Place:  YWCA Family Center,  322 E. Broadway, SLC

For information on Programs: Theresa Otteson, Program Chair –


March-April 2016

January-February 2016

March-April 2015

September-October 2014

April-May 2014

February-March 2014

January 2014

November 2013

September 2013

June 2013

March 2013

paragraph_separatorSalt Lake Branch AAUW Member Op Ed
published in the Salt Lake Tribune

Visit this link to view a letter to the editor written urging senatorial support for the Women’s Museum by Dawn Dewitt, the Public Policy Chair in our Salt Lake City Branch. The letter appeared in the Salt Lake Tribune on September 12, 2014.

Maxine Haggerty, a member of the Salt Lake City Branch, had an editorial in the Sunday Salt Lake Tribune, October 13, 2013, on the importance of equal pay for women to everyone.


Haggerty: Support Paycheck Fairness Act for gender equity

By Maxine R. Haggerty

Published October 12, 2013 1:01 am

Members of The American Association of University Women in Utah appreciate the coverage that The Salt Lake Tribune continues to give the pay gap between women and men. For more than 130 years, AAUW has advocated for gender equity in education and the workplace and is well-known and widely trusted for research reports it sponsors on issues affecting women and girls.

One of its recent reports available to download at is “Graduating to a Pay Gap: The Earnings of Women and Men One year after College Graduation” (2012).

Most people are aware of the pay gap, but they may not realize that one year after a woman graduates from college she is financially behind — on national average paid 82 percent of what her male peer is paid (2009 data). U.S. women working full time earned $35,296 on average, while men working full time earned $42,918.

Utah working women overall are paid on average 70 percent of what male workers are paid. Women working full time earned $34,062 on average, while men working full time earned $48,540.

Using regression analysis and controlling the data for hours, occupation, college major, employment sector, and other cultural factors associated with pay, the Graduating to a Pay Gap report states that the pay gap shrinks but does not disappear.

“College-educated women working full time were paid an unexplained 7 percent less than their male peers were paid one year out of college.” Over a full-time working lifetime, college-educated women earn $500,000 less than their male peers.

Gender discrimination is often blamed, but the report fairly points out other possible causes for the pay gap. “Negotiating a salary can make a difference in earnings, and men are more likely than women to negotiate their salaries.” To help women overcome this reticence, AAUW has cooperated with the WAGE Project to bring “$tart $mart” workshops to college and university campuses to train women how to negotiate their salaries. Plans are underway to hold $tart $mart workshops at the University of Utah during the coming year. (Learn more about $tart $mart at or at

Through the years AAUW has been a leader among those who have lobbied Congress for laws to protect equal employment and pay for women and has been at the president’s side when legislation was signed. AAUW led the effort for passage of the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009, which clarifies when pay discrimination on the job can be legally contested. Because many private employers retaliate against workers who compare wages and salaries, legislation to remedy this practice has been introduced into every Congress since 2005 without becoming law.

The current Paycheck Fairness Act bills (H.R. 377 and S. 84) introduced in January 2013 would amend the Equal Pay Act of 1963 by imposing stiffer penalties against employers who violate the 1963 law and by prohibiting retaliation against sharing salary information. AAUW members throughout the country currently are encouraging everyone to join them in lobbying their congressional delegations to bring these bills to the floor for favorable vote.

In Graduating to a Pay Gap, AAUW states that “Fifty years after the passage of the Equal Pay Act of 1963, it is surprising that women continue to be paid less than men are paid, even when they make the same choices.”

Equal pay for women matters to everyone. When a woman makes less, her family has less of everything (food, clothing, educational opportunities, health care), it takes her longer to pay off her student loans, and she earns less toward her Social Security and retirement. AAUW works everyday to make pay equity a reality.

Maxine R. Haggerty is the educational opportunities chair and a 40-year member of the Salt Lake City branch of AAUW, one of five AAUW branches in Utah.